The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries – the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait – are taking a significant step towards revolutionizing tourism in the region. The long-awaited Unified GCC Tourist Visa, inspired by the Schengen visa in Europe, aims to streamline travel and unlock new opportunities for visitors. This game-changing visa will not only enhance the tourism industry but also contribute to job creation and improved regional economies. In this article, we delve into the details of the Unified GCC Tourist Visa, its benefits, and what travellers can expect.

What is the Unified GCC Tourist Visa?

Similar to the Schengen visa, the Unified GCC Tourist Visa allows travellers to explore multiple countries within the Gulf bloc. Currently, tourists must obtain separate visas for each of the six GCC countries, even though they are connected by air and road. This fragmented visa system can be a hassle for visitors, especially those planning to travel across multiple countries. The introduction of the Unified GCC Tourist Visa aims to simplify the process and make travel more seamless.

How Will the Unified GCC Tourist Visa Benefit Travelers?

The implementation of the Unified GCC Tourist Visa is set to bring a multitude of benefits to travellers. Firstly, it will enable tourists, including long-haul travellers, to visit multiple countries within the Gulf bloc more easily.

Furthermore, the scheme is expected to increase the length of stay for tourists. The current visa restrictions often limit the duration of visits, hindering travellers from fully experiencing the cultural richness and diverse landscapes that the GCC countries have to offer. The Unified GCC Tourist Visa aims to address this issue, allowing visitors to immerse themselves in the vibrant cultures, historical sites, and breath-taking natural wonders for an extended period.

The introduction of the unified visa is also anticipated to boost tourist spending. By facilitating easier travel between countries, tourists will have more opportunities to explore various destinations within the Gulf bloc. This increased mobility will lead to greater economic benefits for local businesses, hotels, restaurants, and various tourism-related industries.

Launch Date and Details

While the Unified GCC Tourist Visa has been unanimously approved by the GCC countries, a specific launch date has not been announced yet. However, according to Oman Observer, the scheme is set to be presented at a meeting of regional interior ministers in Muscat in November. This indicates that the implementation of the unified visa is progressing steadily, and more details are expected to be revealed by the end of the year.

The scheme encompasses various aspects aimed at enhancing the overall tourist experience. Joint publicity campaigns, a common booking platform, and a centralized tourism website are some of the proposed initiatives that may be implemented. These efforts will provide visitors with a seamless and convenient experience when planning their trips and exploring the Gulf bloc.

Eligibility and Application Process

While citizens of GCC countries already enjoy visa-free travel within the member states, it remains unclear whether expatriates residing in these countries will also be eligible for the Unified GCC Tourist Visa. However, UAE Minister of Economy, Abdulla Bin Touq Al Marri, recently mentioned that the GCC is considering a single visa system that would allow residents to travel freely between member states. This suggests that the unified visa may extend its benefits to expatriates as well, enabling them to explore the region with greater ease.

As for the application process, specific details have not yet been disclosed. However, it is expected that the process will be straightforward and user-friendly, ensuring a seamless experience for travellers. Once the application process is unveiled, potential visitors will be able to apply for the Unified GCC Tourist Visa through the designated channels, which may include online platforms and visa application centers.

Destinations Covered by the Unified GCC Tourist Visa

The Unified GCC Tourist Visa will grant visitors access to all six GCC countries, offering a unique opportunity to explore the diverse landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and modern cities that define the region. Whether it’s the futuristic skyline of Dubai, the historical wonders of Saudi Arabia, or the serene beaches of Oman, travellers will have the freedom to embark on unforgettable journeys across the Gulf bloc.

Cost and Duration of the Visa

The exact cost and duration of the Unified GCC Tourist Visa are yet to be announced. However, it is expected that the pricing will be competitive and reasonable, appealing to a wide range of travellers. The authorities are likely to consider factors such as affordability and competitiveness to ensure that the unified visa attracts a significant influx of tourists.

When it comes to the visa’s duration, it is anticipated that visitors will be granted an ample period to explore the GCC countries without the constraints of frequent visa renewals. This extended duration will allow travellers to immerse themselves in the unique experiences and vibrant cultures that the region has to offer.


The introduction of the Unified GCC Tourist Visa marks a significant milestone for the Gulf Cooperation Council countries, ushering in a new era of tourism and travel experiences. With the visa’s implementation, travelers will enjoy the freedom to explore multiple countries within the Gulf bloc seamlessly. The scheme’s numerous benefits, including increased length of stay, enhanced travel convenience, and economic growth, are set to create a positive impact on the region’s tourism industry. As the launch date approaches, anticipation grows, and travelers from around the world eagerly await the opportunity to embark on unforgettable journeys across the captivating landscapes and cultural wonders of the GCC countries.

Share on Social Media


Related Services

Open chat
Hello 👋
Can we help you?